Home

Driverless vEhicles in ou lives ? Let’s talk about it!

The first French citizens’ debate brought together 361 persons
in 5 French communities on January 27th 2018

The urban community of Grand Paris Seine et Oise, Toulouse Metropole and Sicoval, Rennes Metropole and the urban communities of la Rochelle and Sophia-Antipolis welcomed 361 citizens on January 27th 2018. They came to debate all day about issues related to the arrival of driverless vehicles in their lives and their territories.

On those 5 sites, they followed the same debate protocols and answered the same questions.

It was an unprecedented debate on such a topic!

“For once, we ask citizens their advice before the technology is out on the street.” – Sylvie Landrieve, Forum Vies Mobiles

Debate locations

How was this day ?  

The format: five discussion rounds of about one hour, so that all participants can gradually get into the complexity of the subject. Each cycle began with the projection of a video inviting to the exchange of arguments and carrying information on these new technologies and their impact on our lives.

Information videos are available here!

Among the issues addressed: expected benefits in our lives, the mobility of disabled persons, the arrival of the first autonomous flying taxis, or the loss of revenue for the state caused by the disappearance of fines and other taxes on fossil fuels, etc.

Discussion tables of 5 to 6 people gave the participants the opportunity to exchange with ease, and to express themselves without fear of judgment – from their relatives, or from experts who were not invited to take part in the debates. In the end, this atmosphere allowed citizens to find themselves in the position of being actors and partners of the politics, and not being reduced to a function of future consumers of new technologies.

Short version

Long version

The results

We invite you to read the results of this debate here!

The complete and analyzed results were made public in Rennes, on March 16th, 2018, during the InOut show, (“Digital mobility is inventing and testing in Rennes”).

The debate in pictures

PARTNERS OF THE CITIZEN DEBATE

The citizens’ debate on driverless vehicles is carried out by a coalition of partners: local authorities hosting debates, private partners (actors from the various concerned economic sectors ), public institutions and research institutes.

Missions Publiques designed it and will animates it.

Learn more

We are talking about it

MISSIONS PUBLIQUES: bringing citizens into policy 

A healthy democracy requires more than elections. The organization of citizens’ debates on all major issues of our changing society is essential to integrate the expertise of citizens in the decisions that concern them.

Our conviction: decisions are better when they are shared and incorporate a wide variety of perspectives, all citizens are competent to shape the desirable world. Our job is to organize debates and participatory processes to co-build decisions.

Our website : en.missionspubliques.org

Le projet

DEMAIN, Des véhicules sans conducteur dans nos vies ? 

Débattons-en, ensemble ! 

Le premier débat citoyen français a réuni 361 personnes

dans 5 collectivités françaises le 27 janvier 2018

La Communauté urbaine de Grand Paris Seine et Oise, Toulouse Métropole et Sicoval, Rennes Métropole et les communautés d’agglomération de La Rochelle et de Sophia Antipolis, ont accueilli 361 citoyens le 27 janvier 2018. Ils étaient venus débattre toute la journée des enjeux liés à l’arrivée des véhicules sans conducteur dans leurs vies et leurs territoires.

Sur les 5 sites, ils ont suivi le même protocole de débat et ont répondu aux mêmes questions.

Un débat inédit sur ce sujet !

« Pour une fois, on pose la question aux citoyens avant que la technique soit dans la rue » Sylvie Landrieve, Forum Vies Mobiles

 

Lieux de débats

Comment cette journée s’est-elle déroulée ?

Le format : cinq cycles de discussion d’une heure environ, afin que l’ensemble des participants puisse progressivement rentrer dans la complexité du sujet. Chaque cycle commençait par la projection d’une vidéo invitant à l’échange d’arguments et porteuse d’une information sur ces nouvelles technologies et leurs impacts sur nos vies.

Les vidéos pédagogiques sont disponibles ici ! 

Parmi les problématiques abordées : les bénéfices attendus dans nos vies, la mobilité des handicapés, l’arrivée des premiers taxis volants autonomes, ou encore la perte de revenus pour l’État, causée par la disparition des contraventions et autres taxes sur les énergies fossiles…

Des tables de discussion de 5 à 6 personnes donnaient aux participants la possibilité d’échanger en toute simplicité, et de s’exprimer sans peur du jugement – que ce soit celui de leurs proches, ou des experts, qui n’étaient pas invités à prendre part aux débats. Au final, cette ambiance propice à la réflexion a permis aux citoyens présents de se retrouver en tant qu’acteurs, et partenaires du politique, et non pas réduits à une fonction de futurs consommateurs des nouvelles technologies.

La version courte

La version longue

Les résultats 

Nous vous invitons à prendre connaissances des résultats de ce débat ici !

Les résultats complets et analysés ont été rendus publics à Rennes, le 16 mars dernier, lors du Salon InOut, (« Les mobilités numériques s’inventent et se testent à Rennes »).

Le débat en images

VISITER LE BLOG

Les partenaires du débat

Le débat citoyen sur les véhicules sans conducteur est porté  par une coalition de partenaires : collectivités territoriales accueillant les débats, partenaires privés (acteurs des divers secteurs économiques concernés), institutions publiques et instituts de recherche.

Il est conçu et animé par Missions Publiques.

EN SAVOIR PLUS

On en parle

MISSIONS PUBLIQUES : débattre, (se) comprendre pour mieux décider ?  

Une démocratie saine demande plus que des élections. L’organisation de débats citoyens sur tous les grands enjeux de notre société en mutation, est indispensable pour intégrer l’expertise des citoyens dans les décisions qui les concernent.

Notre conviction: les décisions sont meilleures quand elles sont partagées et qu’elles intègrent une grande diversité de points de vue, et tous les citoyens sont compétents pour débattre du monde souhaitable.  Notre métier, c’est d’organiser des débats et des processus participatifs pour co-construire les décisions.

https://missionspubliques.org/